New Star Kebab, Auburn

Date Visited: Sunday 13 March, 2022

New Star Kebab is a famous institution in Sydney for Turkish cuisine and I can see why it is so deservingly popular. The place seems packed from early morning to midnight and as you approach, the smell of the kebabs will definitely grab your attention! They have so much to try on their menu but of course we had to order something featuring their namesake kebab.

The double shish kebab plate came with wonderfully cooked meats with the right touch of smoky flavour and the right touch of freshness on the side. I really enjoyed combining the meat and fresh vegetables in one bite with the bread. Putting it all together was such a filling mouthful.

Double shish plate– $28

Of course, when at a Turkish restaurant, a HSP is a must, and this mixed meats one was heavenly. The combination of chilli, garlic and barbecue sauces was absolute perfection and every mouthful was so satisfying. I love how it is such a generous massive portion as well, great for sharing with family or friends.

Mixed HSP (halal snack pack)

Now onto my favourite dish of the meal – this sucuklu pide was simply divine! I absolutely loved the crispy base while the Turkish sausage, cheese and egg went magically together in the best marriage of flavours. Eating this pide made me so happy and I’d definitely have to order this again on a revisit.

Sucuklu pide (Turkish sausage, cheese, egg)

Lastly, we tried the dips as a side dish and it was good fun trying out the different flavours. Honestly, I’m not too sure what each one was, but the favourite was the bright pink one, which I believe featured beetroot. The bread was also super fluffy and a perfect vessel for absorbing the flavours in the dip.

Dips – $10 (regular)

This was such an epic meal overall. Everything was delicious and the service was super quick as well despite how busy the place was. They have quite a lot of seating indoors and outdoors, so definitely come by and grab a table yourself – such an excellent restaurant for experiencing some amazing Turkish cuisine.

Disclaimer: I dined as a guest of New Star Kebab, but all opinions and photos are my own. Thank you to Spooning Australia for arranging the invite!

New Star Kebab Family Restaurant | 15 Auburn Rd, Auburn NSW 2144 | Website | Facebook | Instagram

Follow my food instagram @foodsofchar and my travel instagram @travelsofchar.

Leave a comment