Santorini on Oxford, Darlinghurst

Date Visited: Wednesday 18 March, 2020

I visited Santorini, Greece two years ago and had an incredible time with some of the best food. I was so glad to be able to have a chance to relive my memories at Santorini on Oxford. From stepping in, I felt like I was transported back to the Greek island, with the friendly welcome and cosy vibes of the restaurant. The menu is fairly extensive with all your Greek favourites, including lots of meat, and more.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

To get things started, we were treated to the seriously impressive saganaki, a very cheesy dish with a hint of alcoholic goodness. The Kefalograviera cheese was served by pouring some ouzo on the dish before lighting it up as an amazing fiery display. The presentation will definitely wow you, and if you are a cheese lover you’ll definitely want as much of this as possible!

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetSaganaki – $17.5

Some pita bread and dips is also a perfect way to start a Greek meal, and I loved the variety in this trio of dips. From left to right was the tzatziki, the Santorini smokey eggplant, and tarama. I think it was my first time trying tarama, which is made from fish roe, and it was quite a subtle light flavour. My favourite might have been the smokey eggplant though, perhaps because it was the strongest flavour. However, I enjoyed all three and would definitely recommend getting the trio to try the different dips!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Trio of dips with warm pita bread – $20

We also enjoyed the pita bread with this special dip. I recall that it was made from beans, but unfortunately don’t have the name of this dish and am not sure if it is even on the menu. However, it was another flavourful dip that helped our meal get off to a great start.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

As if I wasn’t already wowed enough by the flaming cheese, I fell in love with these Kataifi prawns! Wrapped in kataifi, a type of string pastry, these deep fried prawns were absolutely delicious and cooked perfectly. They were beautifully crunchy and went so well with the aioli dill.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Kataifi prawns – $20

We also enjoyed this fresh Greek salad, with a variety of mixed leaf, carrots, tomatoes and cheese. I’m not usually the biggest fan of salads, but I actually really liked this Santorini salad. Everything was really well balanced and I found myself eating more of this than I thought.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Santorini salad – $18

The star of the Greek feast was this mixed meat grill plate. Souvlaki is definitely a Greek classic, and we demolished the two lamb souvlaki skewers. The lamb souvlaki, lamb loin chop, chicken thigh and loukaniko (Greek sausage) were all hot off the grill and full of so much flavour. Served with haloumi and some salad on the side, I guarantee you will be extremely full and satisfied after sharing this meat platter!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Mixed meat grill plate – $40

I really enjoyed my meal at Santorini on Oxford, with the highlights being the flaming saganaki, the amazing Kataifi prawns and the fulfilling mixed meat grill plate. This was one of those restaurants that really made me feel like I was eating traditional authentic Greek food made with lots of care. If you haven’t visited Greece before or if you want to time travel back to your Greek holiday, it’s time to visit Santorini on Oxford!

Disclaimer: I dined as a guest of Santorini on Oxford, but all opinions and photos are my own. Thank you Milk and Butter Media (@milkandbuttermedia) for arranging the invite!

Santorini on Oxford | 217 Oxford St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010 | Website | Facebook | Instagram

Follow my food instagram @foodsofchar and my travel instagram @travelsofchar.

Leave a comment