Contessa, Balmain

Date Visited: Wednesday 16 May, 2018

I’ve been seeing this place pop up on Instagram often over the past few months. It’s quite out of the way for me, so I was glad to finally have a reason to visit with a friend. Surprisingly, it’s not as far as I thought. It was actually pretty convenient, and was only a 10 minute bus ride from QVB, Town Hall on the 442 bus.

Even on a Wednesday morning, most of the tables in the cafe were full. Contessa is inspired by the owner Marco’s Italian roots and travels to America, and this was telling in the menu. There was such a great variety of dishes it was difficult to decide what to order, from usual cafe dishes like french toast and eggs benedict, to trusty Italian spaghetti and New York inspired burgers.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

When I think of Contessa, I remember the cute coffee pictures I’ve seen. I don’t drink coffee so I was surprised to learn that this Contessa froggicino is really just milk and froth, and it’s a drink on the children’s menu. Makes for a great picture though! We were also lucky enough to see some of their coffee art on what I believe were lattes. How pretty are these?

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetContessa froggicino – $2, flat white lattes (large) – $4

One of the dishes ordered was the Italian eggs with mum’s meatballs, which sounded really delicious and something a little different. We were definitely wowed when it arrived, as it was a really pretty dish and a huge serving. It seemed as if the scrambled eggs consisted of 3 eggs, so it is definitely worth the money! The dish tasted very rich, so it will be most enjoyed by those that like strong flavours, as it was super creamy and cheesy.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetItalian eggs with mum’s meatballs – $18.50

Another dish I’ve spotted regularly on the Insta feed were the Contessa corn cakes, which are served with guacamole, baby spinach, fresh tomato salsa and balsamic reduction with hickory smoked bacon. I really enjoyed this, and unlike other fritters I’ve had, this one had a nice crunch to it. The flavours of this were excellent and it felt pretty healthy. It was enough to fill me and I would definitely be happy to order this again!

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetContessa corn cakes – $19.50

Lastly, we gave mum’s minestrone soup a try. There was some cheese in the middle, but with that removed, I was able to try the soup as well. It’s the epitome of hearty, comfort food, and was especially fulfilling on a cold day. Served with herb bread, the soup was packed with flavour. It also seemed very homely and authentic to its Italian roots. There were also a lot of vegetables in the soup, making it very filling, and so much value for $14!

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetMum’s minestrone soup – $14

My go to drink at a cafe is usually a chai latte with soy, and I really liked the one here as it had the right amount of chai in it. My friend got a cappuccino, and made with coffee from the Grounds, it was similarly enjoyable.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetChai latte with soy – $4.50, cappuccino (regular) – $3.50

Contessa was an amazing place for brunch, and we were so spoilt by all the wonderful food and drinks. The dishes have so much heart in them and you can tell how much the people at Contessa really try to ensure every customer has an enjoyable experience. The service was friendly, and the dishes were all so delicious. I was so surprised to find out that they have been open for 25 years, but it’s clearly more evidence that Marco and the staff behind Contessa know what they’re doing. I would not hesitate to visit here again, especially to try more dishes on their menu!

Disclaimer: I dined as a guest of Contessa, but all opinions and photos are my own. Thank you so much Cindy (@sodamnhungry) for extending the invite!

Contessa | 371B Darling St, Balmain | Website | Facebook | Instagram

Follow my food instagram @foodsofchar and my travel instagram @travelsofchar.

Leave a comment